David Aprahamian Liddle home  

Click for a larger image

Click on the example to download a printable .pdf

The English Organ Mass Op6

The English Organ Mass Op6, composed 1990-1991, and based on John Merbecke's notation of 1550, is in seven short movements. Each movement uses Merbecke's appropriate chant in its entirety. Various canons, inversions, retrogrades, etc. pervade the music, even in apparently simple textures. in this austere atmosphere each movement invokes its own spiritual intensity. The work was premiered at King's College, Cambridge.

Duration: about 14 minutes

Buy the music!   price £6.75. PDF copy £5.00


Guild GMCD 7130 played by the composer at St Ignatius Loyola, New York
REGCD436 ‘Ave Maris Stella’ includes a performance of English Organ Mass by Anne Page at Little St Mary’s, Cambridge